Blog > Attractions & Events, Communities

Trail Town Coming To Trent Severn Waterway Communities

Trail TownAn official launch of the Trent Severn Nation Historic Site Trail Town concept was announced last Thursday at Cambellford Lock 11/12.

The concept of a “Trail-Town” was originally brought forth in 2016 when Kawarthas Northumberland held a workshop with the creator of a similar program in the United States.

Now there are currently nine communities working to become trail towns connected through the designated trail of the Trent-Severn Waterway.  These include: Campbellford, Hastings, Lakefield, Buckhorn, Lindsay, Bobcaygeon, Fenelon Falls, Coboconk, and Rosedale.

Over the next two years as the program  is expected to expand beyond Kawarthas Northumberland to include other communities along the 386-kilometre Trent-Severn Waterway, from Simcoe County to Quinte West.

It is hoped that this program will encourage tourism within the areas, bring trail goers into the communities, businesses and local shops.

There is a check list that the trail town committee has put together, ensuring the needs of the communities and visitors are met from this initiative. The list includes this such as: water-filling stations, public recycling and garbage cans, informed businesses, and general friendliness of the communities.